7 days old

Today ends my first week with Sebadai.

And it was a pretty good week in my opinion. I dived headfirst into PvP and with great success, too! Not too bad for a new player I’d say.

I started my day with some more hijinks in Arnon, fighting two guys for a couple of rounds, Philthyphill and Enema77.
Phill in particular taught me that the shieldtank of the Merlin, a Caldari Frigate, is not to be underestimated. In fact I could dent it a little but was far from breaking through. He is also a sweet dude who gave me 5 million isk for my war chest.
Enema77 was a bit put out at first, I think, because I managed to waste his Imperial Navy Slicer but he got his revenge and killed me twice!
The Slicer has a pretty sleek look btw and I think I want one.

Downtime was coming up and I bought my latest Rifter “Dare MK6”. Reshipping is annoying and I really think to streamline  the process I should start buying stacks of the things!

In the meantime I had watched a tutorial about the directional scanner on youtube and of course I was eager to try my new knowledge out, so with the confidence I had gained I decided to do my first cruise through Low Security Space, or a “roam” as it is known in New Eden.

So I set my destination to Bosena, Molden Heath which is a hive of scum and villainy – or at least that’s the impression I got by reading a couple of pirates’ blogs. Setting my autopilot to “prefer less secure” it calculates a route through lowsec.
46 jumps. Oh my god. I guess the life of an outlaw is pretty travel intensive!

Lowsec has a pretty cool feeling to it. In stark contrast to highsec it is very sparsely inhabited and if you do see someone in local you can’t help but feel that they are out to get you.
They probably are. I am certainly out to get you!

Only four or five jumps in I see a lonely sixteen days old character. But even though I checked all asteroid belts with my scanner several times no ship appeared. Instead of wasting more time to pick on another newbie I press on.
The next couple of systems are empty, then I start to see more people again.

Several Lokis, Tengus and Drakes  appear on my scanner. Looking at the ships’ infos I am convinced that it would be more than foolish to attack.

18 jumps in. Arzad.
I see a Nemesis on scan, a frigate of the Stealth Bomber class. No idea how my Rifter would fare against one. But it is a frigate after all, so I try and narrow the scan down.
After some fiddling with the scanner I have it! Only the Nemesis and one asteroid belt in the results!

I click warp.

My hands shake even though I don’t know if he’ll be there.

I tumble out of warp. There he is! Pilot Asstrra, 43 km away, shooting a NPC battleship.
Doggedly  I fire up my afterburner and start the long, long approach. Surely he will warp out.

30km.

He is unfazed by my presence.
Maybe he hasn’t seen me? Maybe he doesn’t take me as a threat? I consider piping up in local, to ask if he needs help with the NPCs. A ruse de guerre akin to flying false colors.
But if he hasn’t seen me? I don’t want to startle him.

20km.

I am in targeting range. But I don’t target him yet. Surely he has seen me and thinks that I want to help him.
Total silence in local.

10km.

Finally I hit target, activate web, scram and guns. A warning pops up: “Do you really want to…” YES, DAMN IT!!

I got him! Clicking orbit I start to chew into his shields. Long seconds he doesn’t react, clearly I caught him completely by surprise.
Then he lights up on my overview, his torpedoes start hitting me. But they don’t do much damage, his armor is nearly gone before he is even halfway into my shields.

The Nemesis blows up! All I can think is “GET THE POD!” and I actually have it scrambled and kill him before my mind is capable of coherent thought again.
My plan was to kill ships and to ransom pods but adrenaline and bloodlust overcame me.
I switch to my loot overview tab, swipe the loot from the Nemesis wreck and for good measure I scoop the frozen corpse I am surprised to see. EVE really is a PvP game.

I warp to a random planet and make a safespot on the way to wait out the 15 minutes criminal countdown. I already tasted station guns two days ago and I am not eager to renew the acquaintance.

After a couple of minutes boredom, I felt not only thoroughly punished for my first act of piracy but also I was finally able to sell my loot. Another 5 million isk!

My next couple of Rifters are more than ensured after today!

I’ll skip over the rest of my roam, cause no viable target presented itself. The only frigates I saw were two Dramiels  which are quite out of my league as I understand.

Having made my way to Bosena I went for the extra jump, docked up in Teonosude and called it a day.

My security status went down to -1.28 and I think soon I will have to worry about being cut off from highsec.
I definitely have to come up with a plan how to supply myself with ships if I don’t want to get extorted on the rather bad lowsec markets.

All in all I am really satisfied with this week and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to a peaceful life, filled with missions.

7 Responses to “7 days old”

  1. Marc Scaurus Says:

    Great start to both the blog and your pvp career. As others have said, I wouldn’t be able to tell you weren’t a native English speaker had I not read it in your first post. Gonna add your link to my blog.

    If you find yourself in the Lonetrek area, feel free to drop by Public Sins chat channel, you might find some pirates around to chat at from the area.

  2. Hey! I just added you to the EVE Player Blogroll! If you could write a little post and/or tweet about it, I’d appreciate!

    Cheers,

    @CrazyKinux

  3. Heya, it’s a good thing you left a post on E-O as this blag is worth the read. If you’d like, I wouldn’t mind helping you proofread your work before you make a post, as I’m sure it’d help you learn the language to have some feedback.

    That said, you’re doing a great job, and I’m impressed at your progress through EVE!

    I base out of Oddelulf in Molden Heath, the region you ended your roam in. I highly suggest checking out Wensley’s blag for a guide to the area, as well as Suleiman Shouaa’s blag for some battle reporting and first takes on the area. You can also join my corporation’s public channel “Broadside” to chat with some of the locals and other PvPers.

    Good luck, and looking forward to future posts.

    • Thanks a lot for your kind words and offer!

      Definitely will join your public channel.
      I’m thinking about making a regular schedule for Way of the Gun, constructing a post during the week and thus publishing a longer article on Sundays.
      Good idea?

    • Regular schedules are great, as long as you’re confident you can make the deadline. Whenever I’ve tried to do so in the past I haven’t been able to keep posts going beyond three weeks.

      Two a week sounds like a good initial target to aim at and will allow you to discover if you can manage greater volume or not without cutting on quality.

Leave a Reply

