Wanted!

I have a bounty on my head.

5,505,000 ISK. Dead only.

I have a vague idea who put it there but I can’t be sure, because as far as I know the CONCORD authorities don’t disclose that kind of information to criminals.

This is the story of how I got a bounty on my head and got to keep my head, too.

But first things first! Thursday night I logged in to queue up some skills. The training wasn’t about to run out till Friday evening and I had a lengthy session planned but with free room in the skill queue I get nervous and you can never know if something comes up at the last minute.
Well, to my surprise a contract was assigned to me: a kind benefactor, a pirate of Molden Heath lowsec, had left me a gift. The Thermodynamics skill!
I won’t name you here cause I forgot to ask you if that’ll be alright with you but you know who you are! Many thanks again!

That was the first 4 million ISK skill down, the second I wanted to get is Infomorph Psychology. To my surprise the skill costs only 900k!
Either I had previously done a price-check on the wrong skill or it cost that much at some non-school station that doesn’t issue the skill.

I found a good use for all the ISK which was saved and got myself a personal killboard.
A useless expense at my point of a Pod Pilots’ career some might say – well, it is pure vanity I guess! If I do something I just have to do it in style.
Friday evening came and I started my roam. Instead of going via Molden Heath lowsec I took a shortcut through highsec because I wanted to check out what Caldari space had to offer in terms of targets.
I didn’t get far though. Emboldened by my success against a Cormorant  with railguns I engaged a Thrasher. It turns out that seven 200mm autocannons hurt. A lot.

Eleven jumps back to Rens. Kitted out a new Rifter and decided to check out a dead end lowsec system  which is cut of from Amamake by a single 0.5 security system.
I had a bit of fun playing cat and mouse with another new player, also in a Rifter, in the two Deadspace areas there but ultimately I couldn’t catch him.

I was just about to leave when Glazios jumped in. Web, scram and started to shoot. He didn’t aggro me though and jumped back into the highsec system.
I had to wait out my timer before I could follow him. I was sure that he’d be gone, never to be seen again.

Finally the local authorities cleared me for gate activation again and I jumped through just in time to get a glimpse of him as he jumped back into Olfeim. I cursed a little and reapproached the gate to follow him once more.

This time he was waiting for me. Almost at once we engaged each other. Another loss. His Rifter was shield tanked, so my Fusion rounds were somewhat less than ideal.
I am considering using Phased Plasma to fight Rifters – and other ships which can be shield or armor tanked – because while it isn’t the best against one type of tank it isn’t horrible, either.
I think I’ll use it as a nice alternative to Fusion or EMP if I can’t be sure what I’m up against.

Back to Rens. Next Rifter.

Again I set out to Caldari Space. Several uneventful systems later I see an Outlaw Broadsword at a Stargate. Now, that is a T2 cruiser and I don’t think I’d stand a chance.
We both jump simultaneously. As soon as I load the System I hit warp. But I was to slow, I am warpscrambled.

His autocannons tear into my shield and armor and I decided to at least go down fighting. I kick in my ab, rep and damage control and once more I settle into a 500m orbit. And once more my adversaries guns cease to hit me!

My little pea shooters don’t do much but I am not yet an Outlaw, so I got the gate guns on my side and I realize that I can win this fight with that kind of help!

His shields start to drop.

Having come to the same conclusion the Pilot ceases hostilities and starts making his way to the gate, ever so slowly.
I actually scream at this point! I must get the kill! Just imagine the glory, the ultimate bragging rights!

His shields are gone and his armor goes down fast.
At this point my recollection gets a bit fuzzy, I am not sure if he actually dipped into structure but that was when he had made it. He jumped out.

A fellow IAC member told me I should’ve bumped him. For sure! If only I had known about that before.
With all the excitement I even forgot to at least make a screenshot. So, I can offer no proof for this story. Most people will have to take my word on it but you, too, know who you are and next time I’ll get you!

Well, we both got a good laugh out of it in our private convo!

I take the disappointment with good grace but still, on the off-chance  that he lingers a bit I follow him through as fast as I can.
No Broadsword to be seen. However there’s a flashy red Thrasher on the gate, piloted by Raxip Elamp of Veto. He targets me and it is clear that he wants to fight, waiting for me to open up on him.
I take a long look at his ship. I know I don’t stand a chance. I apologize and jump out.

In the fight against the Broadsword I had taken a bit of structure damage, so I dock up and call in a professional repair crew. But I certainly don’t want to linger, so I undock again as soon as they’re finished.

In the meantime a Thanatos had undocked as well. I had some capital ships on directional before this but I hadn’t yet beheld one through the lenses of my camera drones.

I quickly snapped a picture before continuing my roam, the angle isn’t all I could wish for but I was a bit worried for a second that he’d squash my like a fly.

I make my way to Raeghoscon. There’s two guys in the system and I warp to a Planet to check out the belts with my scanner.
There’s one frigate here. TAMPLIER BOGA’s Worm.
I checked up on the guy. Hasn’t got his license much sooner than I have, he’s flying a Gurista Frigate but he certainly don’t looks as if he’s a pirate.

I start to narrow  him down and check out his ship. From the slot layout I guess that he’s probably shield tanked. I reload to EMP.

Score! One belt and the Worm are left on scan.

I land 20 km from his position. Not too bad but he might still give me the slip.

I started afterburning and managed to snatch him with my scrambler. Boy, do his shields drop fast! I switch overview tabs and target his drones, a Hobgoblin I and two Hammerhead Is, but I don’t take too much damage, so instead of killing his drones I go for the coup de main.

His armor is hovering a bit around, I had misjudged him, clearly there is an armor repairer going. But it doesn’t do him much good and he explodes!

Over a great distance I hear my voice commanding “Get the Pod!” and I have him targeted, hit scram … and he warps out!
I accidentally scrambled his Hobgoblin.

I loot the wreck and chill a bit at my newest safespot.

My neocom blinks. A new mail. TAMPLIER BOGA  has added me as a contact with terrible standing.
I have made an enemy, I find.

Engineering 5 is about to finish in one hour, so I set destination to Aedald where the Thermodynamics skill is waiting for me and set out.
Of course I inform IAC corp chat of my latest kill and get a few congratulations. Yeah, I, too, am fishing for compliments. Sometimes at least.

One corpmate informs me that I have a bounty on my head!

I show info on my ship, click my portrait and there it is! A massive bounty for such a new Pilot as I am. I pause a bit to gloat.
I think this might be a compliment by TAMPLIER BOGA but the number is a bit odd. Maybe his corpmates chimed in?
I’ll probably never know for sure.
Enough time spent in self-admiration! I continue my voyage.

And it is quite the uneventful voyage till Saidusairos where I see Kilisforgestige. From having seen him earlier I know he’s flying an Incursus and I think I can take him.
I offer him a one on one fight. He declines.

Guess I’ll have to do it the hard way.

I do my now familiar scanning routine and find him at an asteroid belt, warp to him and without further ado I lay into him. His ship starts to go down fast.

But what’s that? Glazios who killed me earlier warps in! Both Pilots are in the same corp – clearly this was a set up and like a fool I ran headfirst into their trap!

Now it’s my turn to go down fast, and my ship blows up.

I spam warp as fast as I ever can but my senses must’ve been astray from my sudden loss and  Glazios has my Pod warpscrambled!

I weep for my glorious bounty.

But what’s that? He doesn’t shoot and convos me. I accept.

3 million he says.

My head is worth more than that.  5,505,000 ISK to be exact. Maybe he hasn’t seen my bounty yet or he just takes pity on me. Another possibility: maybe he just wants to get even more ISK out of my frozen corpse.

But I fought him earlier and we exchanged a few sentences. He seemed like a nice kind of killer.
And there’s something endearing in the way he scrambled my Pod without shooting instantly.

All these thoughts race through my head in the merest fraction of a second.

Trust has to begin somewhere. And having killed a few Angels and Serpentis in empty systems here and there I can afford the ransom, no problem.

K, I say and wire him the money, done.

Thanks, he says and releases me. I warp to safety.

Glazios is a true gentleman who sticks to his word. If you find yourself on the wrong end of his guns pay up and he’ll let you go! The only damage that’ll do is to deflate your ego a bit – and my ego certainly needed a bit of deflating!

Rens is not too far off, so I head there to reship and to take the highsec shortcut to Aedald.
I pause in the busy Brutor Tribe station to sample the local cuisine. Beefsteak, rice and a hot curry-mango sauce. Tasty.

Refreshed I plug myself into Pod and Rifter once more, take the quickest route and finally start training Thermodynamics.

Time for my next destination. There seems to be a secluded patch of lowsec “south” of Molden Heath. Time to check it out.

To my disappointment Derelik is aptly named. The few souls I saw in these systems were either docked up, cloaked or in Drakes.
An empty wasteland. But listening to pretty chill music I somewhat enjoyed my trip there – but still I don’t plan on going to Derelik ever again, even if it sports Nebulae of uncommon beauty.

But see for yourselves, I took a few snapshots there and will end this  log entry on that note.
You can click on these to view the large version.

Enjoy!

PostScript: looks like Kilisforgestige’s Incursus blew up after all!

5 Responses to “Wanted!”

  1. oh yeah, at the point I took the picture I had already spent two reloads worth of ammo

  2. Nice post, good kill on that Worm! That’s where being new actually helps – I may not have gone for a Worm in a Rifter as they are notorious drone boats.

    Keep up the good work and enjoy the bounty – hopefully it will grow as time goes on!

    • Having to kill only like 4 or 5 lowsec rats to replace a loss helps!

      Maybe I’ll get a bit more cautious once my gear gets more expensive… or not!

      Today I fought a two on one against thrasher (my only kill today) and a brutix… somehow I won!

      This is me ransoming the brutix (couldn’t break his tank):
      PewPewPew

      Didn’t get much cause he argued that he could tank me all day… still, felt very cool!

  3. Nice read mate. It’s always refreshing to me to read “newer” to pvp write ups such as this post. Well written. Keep it up.

    ~Harri out

Leave a Reply

